by | Dec 5, 2017 | 2017, Deathscribe | 0 comments

From the time the show began until the audience at last spilled out onto Lincoln Avenue, the temperature dropped 30 degrees. Some may blame it on a cold front, but we know better. The chills came from inside Lincoln Hall, where over 300 willing victims heralded in the holiday season with the 10th annual festival of radio horror plays.

The evening’s big winner was CAVITIES, a tale of dental dread. The Cursed Skull of the Ancients went to director Thrisa Hodits, and playwright Bill Daniel took home the coveted Bloody Axe.

CAVITIES director Thrisa Hodits and the Cursed Skull of the Ancients (photo courtesy of Thrisa Hodits)

WildClaw will return in 2018 with a special one-night Valentine’s Day salon: OPEN HEART SURGERY II: INVASIVE PROCEDURES, followed later in the year by the world premiere of the mind-bending sci-fi horror tale FUTURE ECHOES, written by WildClaw co-founder Paul Foster and directed by company member Norine McGrath.

Deathscribe X Poster by Dave Dorman
The cast of CAVITIES (photo by Diego Colón)

In addition to audio drama, this year’s Deathscribe featured musical performances by Tim Griffin, Moira Begale, Norine McGrath, Diego Colón and Christina Hall. In addition, WildClaw presented a bonus “appetizer” piece, SOUR TOE SHUFFLE, written by company member Ele Matelan, directed by company member Norine McGrath, and featuring company members Krista D’Agostino, Sarah D. Espinoza, Christopher M. Walsh, Mandy Walsh, and Josh Zagoren.

All Foley was designed and performed by Ele Matelan, along with Moira Begale and Shandee Vaughan. Musical accompaniment for the evening was provided by the Deathscribe Orchestra, featuring Joe Griffin, Laura McKenzie, Eric Engleson, Tim Koelling, Hilary Holbrook, Tim Griffin, and Paul Foster.

WildClaw company members perform SOUR TOE SHUFFLE